RSS Feed

America the crazy!

Or maybe I just get crazy when I’m in America. Who really knows?

Untrue. I know. And you will too after this story…

After a spontaneous road trip to Cocoa beach and a late night dip in the ocean, I dropped my friends off at Steak ‘n Shake so Heather could experience the magic that is a Steak ‘n Shake milkshake for the FIRST time in her life, and ventured off in search of a gas station. When I finally found one, I went inside to prepay for gas. The attendant looked at me like I was crazy and asked why I didn’t just use my credit card to prepay at the pump. For some unknown reason I busted out speaking in a intense southern drawl, trying to explain that I get charged an initial $100 any time I swipe my card at a gas station and even though it eventually gets reduced to the amount I spent, I wanted to avoid that extra charge because I’m on vacation… blah blah blah. Seriously. I went on forever! I talked about credit limits and how once I couldn’t figure out why I was over my limit, I think I even told him why one side of my face is larger than the other… it got strange people!

Red faced I finally made it back out to my car. Unfortunately I couldn’t figure out the gas pump… Up here, the button which permits you to pump gas is always associated with the type of gas you want to buy. I’m standing there… hitting the regular icon over and  over, harder and harder, and I cannot for the life of me figure out why it won’t allow me to pump the stinking gas! The attendant finally comes out and informs me I have to hit the green button on the pinpad to start pumping. Great.

I’m finally getting to the point where I can almost drive away and leave this embarasment behind when the pump shuts off… Several dollars short of the amount which I prepaid. I cannot bear to go back inside and ask for a refund, so I decide to suck it up; the three and a half dollars was not worth the little dignity I have left, so I get back in my car to drive off. Except for the little detail about getting in the car… You see I have an issue with keys, and doors, and getting them open. I take FOREVER trying to get my door unlocked and when I finally do I jump inside and peel into the street only to pull a wild u-turn since I pulled out in the wrong direction! All within view of the gas stations large front window. I then realize I don’t know where I am and need to use my GPS…

So I pull into the pizza hut directly across the street from the gas station. (WHY OH WHY???) I stop my car and plug in my GPS. As it’s searching for my destination I hear a knock on my window. Two pizza hut employees are standing there, asking if I am there to pick up a pizza? I say no but they persist: “you’re sure you didn’t order a pizza for pickup?” Yes ladies, I’m sure, I just needed to reroute my GPS. Thank you though. “Are you positive? Becuase we have this pizza for pick-up, do you want a pizza?” I assure them I am fine, and in my desperation to get out of there, I drive out of the parking lot, over the sidewalk, over a grass boulevard and off the curb. Yep, you read that right: I drove off of a curb in full view of the two pizza hut employees AND the gas station.

Five minutes in the life of me. I wish I had it on video. I could barely drive away in a straight line I was laughing so hard! It was something special, that’s for sure!

Coming up this week: more on America, and a special post written by a personal trainer about cardio! In light of all the anti-cardio”ites” out there, I love the way he is able to remind me of the benefits of cardio… slugging it out on a treadmill during the winter months is not as fun as being the hardcore girl doing Romanian deadlifts on the weight floor, but it is so valuable for our bodies!

Do you pick up an accent when you’re surrounded by people who speak differently than you?

 

 

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

Leave a Reply

