RSS Feed

A beneficial cold shoulder?

First up: an update. Avoiding fruit is hard! It’s amazing how often I turn to sweet flavours first thing in the morning or after a meal to cleanse my palate! I frequently test my blood sugar just for interests sake. But it never fluctuates much, and decreasing my sugar intake hasn’t changed that… either my body is a machine at regulating my blood glucose levels or my equipment is out of whack. Perhaps it’s time to buy a different blood glucose meter and see if my results are any different!

Ice Baths.

Famed for their usefulness in preventing injuries, particularly after long runs, but is there more to their health effects?

Recent studies have implicated the effects of cold exposure on increasing metabolism. This study implicated exercising in the cold as a mechanism for increased fat loss.

"forecast: sweet sweetness" ... maybe if all this snow is gonna keep me in these skinny jeans!!

Because of my education I have access to some of the best articles available, however I am not able to link to them since they are only accessible via a username and password. It’s tough for me to write and not be able to back up what I’m saying with scientific literature.  Regardless, I have to remind myself that this isn’t a scientific paper and it’s alright to relax a bit! Since I first read about cold exposure for fat loss in Ferriss’ book, I can tell you that his book is chocked full of references for your perusal if you so desire!

Basically, it has been shown that humans have an amount of brown adipose tissue in their bodies which aid in the fat burning process.  This fat is believed to be activated during cold exposure.  So what constitutes cold exposure?

It’s pretty simple: ice baths, cold water showers, drinking cold water (especially on an empty stomach), underdressing for the weather (keep your extremities covered!), or even placing a cold ice pack on your upper neck for short periods of time.

I haven’t seen as much literature to back up this theory as I would like, but it is intriguing none the less.
Have you ever tried cold-therapy or know of anyone who has?

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

6 responses »

  1. I’ve never tried it! I’m curious about it though. I don’t think I could handle it!!! I’m ALWAYS cold! The idea of taking an ice bath gives me goosebumps!

    Reply
    • I feel you! I’m cold all the time 😛 I tried getting in a bath that was simply cold water and I couldn’t even do it lol the shower’s easiest because you can slowly turn the heat down.

      Reply
  2. I’ve never researched the benefits, but I bet I have access to some of those articles! Since I’ve been training longer runs I have been doing more ice baths. I’m definitely going to look into it…thanks for the tips!

    Reply
  3. I’ve never tried cold-therapy, though I think it’s an interesting concept! I’ve never taken an ice-bath either–I am usually always cold, so the idea isn’t too enticing to me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

