RSS Feed

The Four Hour Body?

I recently read Tim Ferriss’ 4-Hour Body.

It was interesting, to say the least. I want to start off by cautioning that there is a whole chapter in the book that is… well not appropriate for youngsters.  This book is huge and chocked full of information about sleep, losing weight, gaining muscle and beyond! (yes I am still in love with Buzz Lightyear…)

This book is so interesting because Tim Ferriss does not have formal credentials. His book is predominately based on his own experiements; there are no formal research trials or studies on the long-term effects.  This is simply a chronicle of what worked for him and those he enlisted to trail his methods.  And though no research study could ever be perfect, it does offer some assurance that the results are scientifically sound.  That being said, Ferriss was not driven by a desire to prove or disprove a certain theory. He simply wanted  to figure out what truly will work, which (according to him) allows him to be unbiased in publishing the results.

I thought the concept of this book was very interesting; his goal is to see maximum results for minimal effort.  But isn’t this the claim everyone wants to hear? It’s always a claim I am wary of; it’s marketable and a great selling feature. However there is some validity to it. Even in the hospitals, drug dosages are determined based on the minimum amount of the drug which will still cause the desired affect. The question is, how little is too little? And Ferriss is focused on results, on how one’s body looks from the outside. But what’s happening on the inside, does his recommend lifestyle attribute to overall health? That remains to be seen.

However, thinking about this book reminded me that I have taken up some of Ferriss’ recommendations, and furthermore, I think I’m going to challenge myself and take up another of his recommendations. What is that going to look like? To be honest I’m not totally sure, but more on that tomorrow!!

If you’ve read this book, what were your thoughts on it?

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

7 responses »

  1. oh now i am curious. Whats the 4 hours all about? Should I look into it?

    Reply
    • Well his first book was “the 4-hour workweek” so I’m assuming it’s just a play off of that title. There’s no true reference to it in the book.
      It’s certainly not a book that revolutionized my thinking, however I know a lot of people who have bought into his suggestions and I like knowing where they’re coming from. At the very least it was really interesting, I enjoyed it and will likely go back to it at some point!

      Reply
  2. This sounds like an interesting read! There are so many different books out there–some are knowledgeable and others are far from knowledgeable, but I still enjoy reading various viewpoints on the same topic.

    Reply
    • exactly! I’ve often heard the quote that people only search out information which supports their preconceived notions, so I like reading a large variety of things to try and find some balance 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hm that sounds really interesting! I’ve never heard of it. There are so many books that promise so many things, its crazy! I like reading them though 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: A beneficial cold shoulder? « leavethemwishing

Leave a Reply

