RSS Feed

Sugar: A Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing?

Favorite customer moment of the day (I was serving four hungover guys):

Guy #1: excuse me? why did they all get bendy straws and I didn’t?

Guy #2: dude. you have a bendy straw. you just put it in upside down

Guy #1: I feel like such a loser.
Direct quote. But onto bigger things…

Tonight I was scrolling through the bookmarks on my computer and found a link to the article “Is Sugar Toxic?” by Gary Taubes. He linked to Robert H. Lustig lecture on youtube (Sugar: The Bitter Truth) and I got sucked in! (If you want a quick version you can watch his interview on ABC news)

The research that is brought to light in this lecture resonates so strongly with what I believe about food. How many of us know what it feels like to eat a full meal but not feel satiated? I don’t know about you but I feel this especially in regards to deserts! I find I’m better off to have  none then “just a bite” because once that sugar hits my tongue, I am a goner.

I recently read Michael Pollan’s “In Defence of Food” It. Was. Amazing

The take-away point for me was that all of the processing we do to food (sugar included) is messing up our bodies natural systems! I’m not advocating for a particular diet or lifestyle, but I think we could be treating our bodies much better than this. The prevalence of sugar-ladden, deep-fried junk in our communities never ceases to amaze me, and I believe we have deceived ourselves into thinking “it can’t be that bad”  because we see it everywhere. Social acceptance of the food on our grocery shelves combined with the adage of “eating in moderation” (seriously? if we were honest most of us would say we are NOT eating “treats” in moderation) has dulled our common sense. Our bodies deserve better than this, our bodies are begging to be fed better stuff than this, and more importantly, our bodies need better sustenance than what we’re giving them.

What do you think? The argument against sugar is typically an extremist’s argument. Is it too extreme? Or have we been too complacent about the modern diet?

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

6 responses »

  1. The idea of cutting out sugar is becoming more and more acceptable to people. Well, at least the idea of it. They may not be willing to try it, but someone they know has cut out sugar and seen success.

    Reply
  2. Gary Taubes comes out with some great stuff! And I love the story from work…too funny 🙂

    Reply
    • I actually haven’t come across anything else from Gary Taubes! I’ll have to look him up 🙂 haha ya the customer base at that restaurant is mostly older, so it made those guys even funnier to me since they were so out of place!

      Reply
  3. I think it’s definitely too extreme – excess is bad, as with everything, but sugar is, in its own right, just a plant food like flour, peas, lettuce, etc…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

