RSS Feed

bushier is better?

Uh ya. Awkward title much? The context: while at a leadership meeting for church this evening, we were discussing whether or not moustaches are attractive. The unanimous answer from the ladies was: NO! One of the guys piped in and emphatically stated that girls secretly found them attractive, and continued by stating that bushier is better.  I looked at him and ask how he would feel if his girlfriend used that as a defence for not shaving her armpits. Shortly after that it was decided that they must create a juzzle. That is, a muzzle just for me 😛

As promised here is my favourite roasted red pepper soup recipe! It’s not too different from anything you could find online, but it’s just the way I like it 😀

Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Ingredients:

5 red peppers

1T olive oil

4 cloves of garlic

2 shallots

1/2 cup unflavoured almond milk (or cream if you like it extra creamy!)

2.5 cups chicken or vegetable stock

salt & pepper to taste

hot sauce

First broil the whole red peppers at 450 on a cookie sheet lined with tin foil. Turn them over when the skins start to darken, and remove them when both sides look crispy, this will help you remove the skins once they have cooled.

Remove the core and seeds and chop into chunks.

Now heat the olive oil in a pan on medium -high heat, and once it is hot add the minced garlic and shallots.

After the garlic has browned, throw in the red peppers and continue to cook for 8-10 minutes.

Put the contents of the pan into a blender and blend until smooth.

Once blended, add it to the almond milk and chicken stock in a sauce pan and bring to a simmer.

Add salt, pepper and hot sauce to your liking and enjoy!!!

soup in a mug is so comforting 🙂

I love that this soup is made of just a few simple ingredients and not diluted by tomatoes! ( I was going to mock tomatoes since they are a fruit pretending to be a vegetable when I realized, peppers have seeds too… which means they are likely also fruits. *sigh)

I could eat this soup every day, it feels so indulgent!

What’s your favourite good-for-you comfort food?

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

