RSS Feed

sticking the landing

I started this blog as a way to keep myself accountable.  I can be an extremist, and as anyone knows; achieving balance is not necessarily a simple thing! If you’d like to know more about me, you can visit my “about me” page, but until then, I will leave you with this thought.

In gymnastics, we were often told by our coaches how important it was to stick the landing.  Dismounting gracefully from the apparatus and landing softly on two feet, back straight with a smile on your face, triumphantly throwing your arms out to each side.  Somehow, in the middle of time and space, while you’re flying through the air, your body manages to right itself so you land squarely on two feet. The link between your brain and musculature is amazing, our ability to process information and turn it into electrical impulses seems incomprehensible. Yet, through time and practice, bruises, bumps and scrapes we often manage to find our centre of gravity and stick the landing.  That feeling of accomplishment is incomparable, but it is not possible without all the hours of practice that preceded that moment.  This blog is the log-book of those hours.

Is there one area in your life that you find it is particularly difficult to achieve balance?

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

Leave a Reply

