RSS Feed

Picking up More than Weights Part 2!

‘common guys you didn’t think I was just going to tell you one measly story and leave it at that did you?

If you didn’t catch the prequel to this post, you can find it here!

It’s funny, you’d think you would get hit on more often when you look like this:

ow-ow!

 

I tried to find a post-workout picture, but alas, I could not! So instead you get this lovely photo of my great aunt!

yet I always feel like I get hit on the most when I look like this! (I tried to find a post-workout picture, but alas, I could not! So instead you get this lovely photo of my great aunt!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some of my favorite failed pick up attempts! Brought to you by our good friend “gym” :P

An older balding man initiated a conversation with me while I was on the stationary bike. I was polite but also told him that I was very interested in the hockey game I was watching and that I would really like to focus on that. He continued talking and short of having to tell him to pleassssse leave me alone, or switching machines (which would not have been subtle…) I was trapped. Eventually he asked me if he could take me out on a date sometime and I told him that I was seeing someone (actually I was seeing several guys… seeing them on the tv screen in front of me that is). He relented, but before he turned to leave he asked: but if you weren’t seeing someone I would have had a chance, right?!?? Wrong, sir. You are so very, very wrong.

I was approached by a young, cute guy who began to talk with me during my workout one afternoon. However, I continued with my routine and when I was stretching on the other side of gym he approached me and asked if I liked swimming. Mildly confused, I answered that I did, and he proceeded to ask me if I would like to go swimming at his house after my workout. Why YES random stranger! I would love to be lured back to your house where I will prance around in my bathing suit as if I have no cares in the world! Will there also be puppies and candy and kool-aid?

And last but not least, I was stretching at the end of my workout when a rather well built man came and sat down next to me.  He leaned over and asked: “excuse me, what was your first word?” I told him I was sorry, but I did not know, and I went back to stretching. He finally managed to make eye contact again and told me that his first word was “hi.” I made some off hand comment like “oh, that’s nice…” His response? “Actually it wasn’t my first word, I just wanted to say hi.” Suddenly, I was reminded of the first words I ever said: “peace out hommie!”

Now I want to hear your stories!!!

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

8 responses »

  1. these are hilarious! i’m really wondering how they get away with such lines.

    Reply
  2. LMAO! I don’t think I’ve ever had a guy approach me at a gym. I hear that I look very bitchy and focused. That and if I see anyone walking over, I beeline it elsewhere.

    Reply
  3. Well I go to an all-ladies gym usually, so I have never been hit on there. But one time at the bigger gym my friend and I were doing deadifts and she told me that there was a man directly behind me staring at my ass. We moved, and he didn’t approach us after that, so no worries :)

    Your aunt is hot!

    Reply
  4. Oh my goodness! I haven’t experienced anything like that, but I wouldn’t put it past some guys at gyms. Just…. wow! At least it makes for a good laugh. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

