RSS Feed

One of the Lucky Ones

The comments on yesterday’s post really got me thinking about self image.

I truly am one of the lucky ones. My feelings about my appearance have been overwhelmingly positive for the majority of my life. I attribute this to three things:

1) My dad. He has always called me beautiful. I’ve heard that fathers are crucial in the formation of their daughters self-concept and I am so grateful that my dad has always shown me affection and treated me as though I was precious and worth his time.

2) I’ve worked for it. I love being active, and knowing that my legs carried me for that 5k run fills me with a sense of pride and ownership. My body can do incredible things and for that I am grateful.

3) My Heavenly Father. I believe that the creator of the universe calls me beautiful. There is nothing more powerful than believing the words of he who created the earth, and besides, who am I to argue with the big guy?

Ever since I was young, I’ve felt pretty and strong. I don’t know when or where I came up with this idea, but I always believed that if a guy didn’t check me out, it must be because he has a girlfriend! :P It’s silly but it feels good.

There are two things I want to avoid in this post,
1) I don’t want it to be mistaken for arrogance. I believe that I am beautiful but it is not relative to others. My self concept is not based on putting others down. Everyone is beautiful, and each for their own reasons.
2) I don’t want anyone to assume I’m just living in a dream world. The reality is that not everyone will find you beautiful, but it certainly is fun to believe that they do! We all live in a world based on our own perspective, so why not make yours a positive one?

Everyday I look in the mirror and I see what I love. If I can change something I don’t love (my thighs!) I work on it! But I also remember that those thighs are the home of the muscles that allow me to fly down a ski hill, and keep me from falling when I turn sharply. But I don’t focus on my thighs. I think about the things I love and allow myself to dwell on those features and nothing else.

Is there a body part that you need to change your perspective on? What part of your body/face should you spend more time thinking about?

About esmemerrie

I am a 23 year old, newly graduated with a BscN. I am passionate about change. In myself or in others, I believe that there is always room for improvement and I never want to become complacent. Even still, there is nothing more valuable then celebrating, finding delight in even the simplest moments, the smallest accomplishments. I never have enough time for my hobbies, whether it's sports/working out, reading, cooking, volunteering, thrifting, playing piano, singing or hanging out with my family and friends I sometimes find it hard to fit it all in. But really, who doesn't? At the end of the day, I want to be the type of woman, Christian, friend, nurse, athlete, cook... the type of person who never settles and always inspires those around her. I want to be real, honest and faithful. Be the person that leaves them wishing.

10 responses »

  1. yes m’am! our heavenly father is the most important for self image. Our condifence and light shine through because of HIM! amen!

    Reply
  2. Ahh, great post – always great to know you’re beautiful! I love my smile…and my eyes!

    Reply
  3. fortheloveofkale

    Love this post. It’s so refreshing to see someone confident in their appearance and rocking their amazing self!

    The thing I’ve been insecure about throughout my life are my cheeks. I’ve always wanted “cheekbones” for some reason. I don’t really know where that came from…I just find them very attractive. I’ve learned to love my face, regardless of the fact that I don’t have cheekbones, but that insecurity certainly pops up here and there.

    Reply
  4. Great post Esmerrie! You’ve got some awesome self-confidence and a fantastic positive attitude. I used to be super insecure about my nose when I was younger, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve found far more important things to worry about! I’m of the mind now that smiling makes everyone look a squillion times better! :)

    Reply
    • Thanks! Isn’t it good to know our perspectives are always changing? I think having a beautiful smile is so fantastic! It’s one of the first things people notice, but it also conveys warmth and acceptance which can turn someone else’s whole day around!

      Reply
  5. It is definitely a blessing to see your own worth and beauty for who you are. I love that you share it proudly. You should!

    And it saddens me that too many view women who take pride in themselves as arrogant. We should all be uplifting one another and saying “You’re dang right you’re awesome!”

    Thanks also for your support on my blog move. :)

    Reply
    • Exactly! It’s unfortunate, but sometimes we don’t recognize the difference between being proud and taking ownership of something and being prideful about it. They are very different things!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

